Parisian èclairs – take two

10246350_743801872355006_1374799244816755836_n

Following the debacle of the Fauchon èclair, there was still a glimmer of hope for Saturday in Paris. Deciding not to revisit my previous èclair haunts, I planned to meet my friend, Benoît, on the other side of Paris to check out some patisseries I hadn’t been to before. I wonder how long it would take to get around them all? Perhaps a challenge for next time 🙂

So, back to the èclairs. After traversing Paris on the metro (best entertainment in Paris), I met Benoît and his brothers in the 6th arrondissement and we set off. I had no idea where we were, and it was good to cover some new ground.

The first stop was at La Pátisserie des Rêves, which was full of people. They had èclairs which were encassed in chocolate  (picture here is from their Facebook page since I did not get photos) – and although they looked deadly, they were really yum and not super rich. I am not sure I could replicate these at home.

The second patisserie was Gérard Mulot, which was about a 10 minute walk from the first. These èclairs were more traditional – café and chocolate – but were also yummy. I prefer these types of èclairs as they seem to have more flavour and are less about the dramatic looks some èclairs have (which leads to more sugar).

In a somewhat dramatic turn of events, the metro filled with smoke on the way back to my hotel. Luckily, we saw some nong flick his cigarette up onto the roof of the carriage moments early, so were able to assume that the smoke was nothing too nasty. Still had to leave the carriage at the next stop until safe to board again. It was a change to the normal metro aroma 🙂

Leave a Reply

