Off the wall hot chocolate at Vita: Nature + Culture

Vita

This is the most excited I have been about hot chocolate in a long time. Possibly the most excited since my search in France. And it happened pretty much by accident. But an accident I am happy to have over and over…and over and over.

I was supposed to be staying at home to study (*boring*), but my sister convinced me to leave the house and head into town for a while and used the tried and tested lure of hot chocolate. She had heard about the hot chocolate at Vita: Nature + Culture ‘coming out of the wall’, so I was intrigued to see if the hot chocolate was set up like their self-serve frozen yoghurt machines (which I love – Mr Whippy eat your heart out!). I have learnt not to get too excited about ‘new finds’ – they have ended in disappointment too many times – and when we walked to the back wall with the mounted frozen yoghurt nozzles, there was no hot chocolate to be found 😦

As I turned to ask the staff about the hot chocolate, I spotted it tucked away behind the counter. It was not ‘in the wall’, but on the bench in a large vat swirling around. Before I committed to a full cup, the lovely guy working there offered me a small taste. Well, I only needed to have one sip to know I had hit absolute gold. I ordered a cup straightaway and then amidst all the excitement, I tried to explain how I search for hot chocolate and this was pretty much the bomb. I was trying to take a picture of the machine and correctly sensing a crazy-hot-chocolate-lady moment coming on, I was permitted to go behind the counter to check it out and take some pics 🙂 I love helpful staff who do not treat you like a weirdo (because I am quite sure that is how I was coming across – I know that because Jenna kept her distance and took a long time getting her frozen yoghurt). I cannot even describe how perfect this hot chocolate is, but I do know it is made from 2 Cow milk, cacao powder and single origin chocolate (there was a fourth ingredient but I had lost my mind by that point) and it tastes REALLY GREAT.

It is at this point that I need to thank Jenna, for two reasons. Firstly, for dragging me out of the house and reminding me about ‘the wall’ of hot chocolate, and secondly, for paying for my hot chocolate since I had left my purse at home…of all days!

To find out what Hobart’s (possibly Australia’s) greatest hot chocolate tastes like, head to Vita: Nature + Culture in Elizabeth Street. Oh, and the coconut frozen yoghurt is pretty special too.

Vita3
This is where it lives 🙂

Vita4

Vita: Nature + Culture Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

.ig-b- { display: inline-block; }
.ig-b- img { visibility: hidden; }
.ig-b-:hover { background-position: 0 -60px; } .ig-b-:active { background-position: 0 -120px; }
.ig-b-v-24 { width: 137px; height: 24px; background: url(//badges.instagram.com/static/images/ig-badge-view-sprite-24.png) no-repeat 0 0; }
@media only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2), only screen and (min–moz-device-pixel-ratio: 2), only screen and (-o-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2 / 1), only screen and (min-device-pixel-ratio: 2), only screen and (min-resolution: 192dpi), only screen and (min-resolution: 2dppx) {
.ig-b-v-24 { background-image: url(//badges.instagram.com/static/images/ig-badge-view-sprite-24@2x.png); background-size: 160px 178px; } }
Instagram

Leave a Reply

