From France, for choux…

Aix en ProvenceFriends. They are the people you can rely on to be brutally honest, listen to you ramble about nothing for hours, laugh with you until you cry, and so it would seem, sample éclairs in France in your absence. This friend is one of the best kind. And this is my friend, Samantha. During her visit last week to see her family in the south of France, Samantha bravely checked out the éclair scene and provided me with the following report (merci Sam)…with an interesting and slightly shocking ending

Well Aix-en-Provence proved to be a minefield of hidden gems, in the form of delicious French patisseries. Here was cake heaven! Having ‘popped my head’ into every sweet smelling boulangerie and patisserie we passed on the narrow cobbled streets, I finally gave into the smell of freshly baked baguettes & brioche and fell victim to the mini sized patisseries on display. As is always the case when in France, the array of choice makes it impossible to decide which treat to opt for, therefore I was obliged to buy 15 mini patisseries in order to not leave any feeling left behind (disappointingly they did have to be shared at a family gathering).

At this point I spotted a couple of ‘baby’ chocolate éclairs looking rather lonely. As a favour to my good friend Hayley, I just had to have them! My sister kindly assisted me in this important quest and also opted to have one. It was definitely, as the French would say, très bon! Nice light choux pastry, filled with chocolate yumminess. In fact I’d have been quite happy if it had been filled with more crème pâtissière.

All in all it was a good éclair and frankly it’s life span was pretty short. However, (never thought I’d admit this) I still find it hard to top Hobart’s Jean Pascal version

Aix en Provence 5
Aix en Provence2
Aix en Provence 7

Leave a Reply

