The diary of an éclair addict…or an insomniac

Oh éclairs! A Fauchon flavour for every addict

Oh éclairs! A Fauchon flavour for every addict

This morning I had a bit of time to think. I woke early for a Saturday and it was one of those mornings that staying in bed all day seemed possible – until I remembered we had just moved house and there was still unpacking and cleaning to be done. Then it was impossible! Deciding 5am was too early to get out of bed, my mind wandered. As it did, I realised it is over 3-months since I returned from France, and my éclair cravings have not ceased – if anything, they have worsened. That really flies in the face of addiction of any sort – I thought that time away from your addiction was supposed to make it go away? Apparently not. This got me thinking about food addictions, cravings (and I am not talking about those feeder people!) and éclairs!

People eat chocolate and other sugary treats when they are sad, anxious or happy – emotional eating – and it dawned on me that I am not an emotional eater. In fact, if anything, I am an ‘un-emotional’ eater. I eat anytime of the day (colleagues will vouch for this!) and I rarely indulge in food at all when I am sad or bored. It actually makes me feel worse. I suppose this is not a bad thing.

My eating habits aside, it is fascinating to think about how food is such a big part of our lives and how we all have different habits and preferences. We eat for rituals, enjoyment and of course nutrition, but there are so many conflicting messages to what we should and should not eat.

For example, while slightly off track on Google, I stumbled across an article about dietary intervention to treat prostate cancer. The researchers pretty much threw everything we know about healthy eating out the window and recommended eating less foods that are high in a little thing called polyamines, which include garlic, broccoli, almonds and mushrooms, and eat foods with less polyamines, which low and behold include chocolate éclairs! The small trial that took place as part of this research seemed positive and I was buoyed by the fact that éclairs might help men with prostate cancer, but then I read that the researchers were French and things started to fall into place. Even at 5.30am, I smelled a rat! It also stated that beer should be consumed so I don’t think this would be hard sell to most men. This research was from 2010 and not 1950 (I was worried I was about to have an Abetz moment!), but I am still sceptical of how credible this research might be…in fact I would go as far to say it is likely bollocks, but maybe more trials need to be undertaken…

Leave a Reply

