It won’t win best presented éclair, but it’s mine

ImageAll this éclair critiquing got me thinking – who am I to judge the efforts of others when I have never made an éclair myself? Well today I undertook an éclair class and have a whole new appreciation for the work it takes. And what great arms these pastry chefs must have.

I am the first to admit that my éclair is not a classic beauty.  In fact it is far more a beast. It would be right at home at a Shrek birthday party for toddlers. But I will say, the choux pastry is good.  Very good.  The pistachio filling? Awful. Very strong almond essence taste (one thing I cannot stand). No idea how that worked it’s way in…must have been in the pistachio paste.

However, for my first attempt, looks and almond-ness aside, I am impressed.  Maybe there is hope for me to make éclairs at home. Just maybe. 

Image

Image

 

One comment on “It won’t win best presented éclair, but it’s mine

  1. Hey you gave it a try and like you said, now you can appreciate your purchased eclairs even more – bet you give it another bash when you get back to Tassie

    Like

Leave a Reply

